Just a quick blog this week to share a link to an interesting article I spotted this week about the new Oliver James’ theory of ‘Lovebombing’.  This article really spoke to me and bore great similarity to my earlier blog about Special Time, encouraging pockets of high quality time in which parents focus love on their child and place that child in the driving seat of dialogical activity.

This ‘lovebombing’ technique is something I have frequently built into play experiences with both my sons and I can testify that it has powerful results. With my eldest, an artist, this was often achieved through joint arts activity – painting, drawing and making together – in which the accomplishment shared between us created a strong bond and gave us a mutual sense of satisfaction. With my younger child he prefers to read together or play games (in which he gives me explicit repetitive script for certain toys that place him in the role of being powerful / superhero-like / rescuer) and can be more dull from my perspective as an activity, but give me a profound sense of joy in seeing his self-esteem and empathy build step by step.

Over the last month I have increased from part to full time work, and this has had a dramatic effect on our family life. My eldest son in particular is struggling to share my attention with my many new work demands. Reading this article was timely for me to remember how it important it is that I continue to carve out time to hear my sons and preserve their wellbeing – so lovebombing is being booked into the diary as a crucial component of our family life.

